LLM (Master of Law)

The study of law at South Asian University aims at an analytical understanding of the subjects, systems, theories and institutions in this field. Towards this end, the Faculty of Legal Studies has introduced the LL.M Programme with an emphasis on international law. It is widely known that international law has become the common language of relations between states and other subjects. Keeping this in view, the Programme is sensitive to the perspective of South Asian countries. It is believed that the countries of the South Asian region would be able to explore new areas of cooperation if the study of their common legal problems is pursued with greater commitment. To be able to build a strong foundation for future research abilities of students in the region, the Faculty focuses on some important areas of international law as part of the LL.M course structure.

M.A. (International Relations)

Among the courses offered by the Faculty are: General Principles of International Law, International Trade Law, Law of International Organisations, International Human Rights Law, International Humanitarian, International Criminal Law, Law of the Sea, Private International Law, Intellectual Property Law, and Legal Theory and Jurisprudence. The Faculty equally emphasises on developing an interdisciplinary approach to the study of law in general and international law in particular. Further, the Faculty offers some innovative courses such as Comparative Constitutional Law of South Asian countries.

Apart from traditional pedagogic methods of teaching, the Faculty adopts seminar methods, wherein weekly legal discourses are organised. Eminent law scholars from India and abroad are invited to interact with faculty and students. The Faculty also organises discussions on contemporary legal problems, through joint seminars with other institutions. Further, the Faculty intends to engage the available human resources in the region and other parts of the world to contribute towards establishing centres of excellence in the field of international law and other important fields of law.

Faculty of Legal Studies

LLM Programme 2019

Time Table

Monsoon Semester - I ,(Room No.211)







09.00 am-11.00 am

Jurisprudence & Legal Theory (SRG)

Research Methods for Law (PR/SB) *




11.00 am-01.00 pm

Research Methods for Law (PR/SB) Jurisprudence & Legal Theory (SRG) Comparative Contitutional Law of SAARC Nations (NA) Comparative Contitutional Law of SAARC Nations (NA)


2.00 pm-4.00 pm

* * International Law (RP) International Law (RP) *

Ravindra Pratap - RP, Prabhash Ranjan - PR , Nafees Ahmad - NA

Srinivas Burra - SB, Sai Ramani Garimella -SRG


LLM Programme 2019

Time Table

Monsoon Semester-III ,(Room No.208)







09.00 am-11.00 am

Conflict of Laws (SJ) (Optional) Conflict of Laws (SJ)(Optional) International Criminal Law (SB) (Optional) International Criminal Law (SB) (Optional)  

11.00 am-1.00 pm

International Human Rights Law (NA) (Compulsory)

International Investment Law (PR) (Optiopnal)

International Investment Law (PR) (Optiopnal)



Lunch Break


02.00 pm-04.00 pm

  International Human Rigths Law (NA)(Compulsory) Law of the Sea (SB) (Optional) Law of the Sea (SB) (Optional) Legal Interpretation (RP) (Optional)

04.00 pm-06.00 pm

      Intellectual Property Rights (KKS)(Compulsory) Intellectual Property Rights (KKS)(Compulsory)

Ravindra Pratap - RP, Stellina Jolly -SJ,

Nafees Ahmad - NA, Sai Ramani Garimella -SRG,Prabhash Ranjan -PR,

Srinivas Burra -SB , Kshitij Kumar Singh -KKS


Note: Contactable Hours of the Faculty

Dr. Ravindra Pratap, Monday to Friday: 4:30 - 5:30 PM

Dr. Nafees Ahmad, Thursday 2 - 4 PM

Dr. Stellina Jolly, Tuesday 1 - 3 PM

Dr. Garimella Sai Ramani, Tuesday 1- 3 PM

Dr. Srinivas Burra - ICL ; Friday 3- 5 PM

Dr. Srinivas Burra - LS ; Monday 3- 5 PM

Dr. Srinivas Burra - RMLW; Tuesday 3- 5 PM

Dr. Prabash Ranjan - Friday 2- 4 PM


Previous Year Question Papers

Eligibility criteria

LL.B. degree from any recognized University with at least 50% marks in aggregate or equivalent grade.

Details regarding Entrance Test Question Paper :

The Question Paper will consist of three Parts : Part "A"; Part "B"; and Part "C".
Part-A will have 20 (objective type) questions of 10+2 (12th Class) level, of one mark each.
Part-B will have 20 (objective type) questions of LL.B. level carrying 2 marks each.
Part-C will have 4 (subjective type) questions of LL.B. level carrying 10 marks each. Answers to each of these questions will be restricted to 350 words.
For sample questions, refer previous year’s Question Paper.


Tuition feeat SAU is highly subsidized. Following is the fee structure payable by students coming from SAARC countries :

  1. Admission Fee (Non-Refundable)US $ 100(one time)
  2. Tuition Fee US $ 440 (per semester)
  3. Security Deposit (Refundable)US $ 100(one time)

  • AKR Gobinath

    AKR Gobinath
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (Indian Institute of Technology Chennai, 2008)

  • Amit Banerjee

    Amit Banerjee
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (National Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan, 2009)

  • Ananda Mustafiz

    Ananda Mustafiz
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi, 2010)

  • Anirban Dasgupta

    Anirban Dasgupta
    Associate Professor
    PhD (University of California, 2006)

  • Ankur Datta

    Ankur Datta
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (London School of Economics, 2011)

  • Arup Mitra

    Arup Mitra
    Professor & Dean
    Post Doctorate (Northwestern University, Evanston, USA, 1995)

  • Bijoy Chand Chatterjee

    Bijoy Chand Chatterjee
    Assistant Professor & DST Inspire Faculty
    PhD (Tezpur University, 2014)

  • Binoy Goswami

    Binoy Goswami
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (Gauhati University, 2013)

  • Chudamani Basnet

    Chudamani Basnet
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (University of Georgia, 2010)

  • Danish Lohani  Q. M

    Danish Lohani Q. M
    Associate Professor
    PhD (Aligarh Muslim University, 2009)

  • Debdatta Saha

    Debdatta Saha
    Assistant Professor
    PhD (Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi, 2013)

  • Deepa Sinha

    Deepa Sinha
    PhD (University of Delhi, 2007)

^ Back to Top