MSc in Biotechnology


MSc Biotechnology is a two year (four semester) academic programme.


Minimum Eligibility

12 years of schooling + a 3 year Bachelor’s degree (BSc, BVSc, BTech, MBBS, etc.) in any area of Biological Sciences / Chemistry / Agriculture and allied sciences; Veterinary and allied sciences / Biotechnology / Biochemical Technology; from an institution recognized by the government of any of the SAARC countries, with the following minimum eligibility marks criteria:

  1. For candidates from the annual system: 55% and above

  2. For candidate from the semester system (percentage): 60% and above

  3. For candidates from the GPA semester system the formula for determining percentage is as follows:

        CGPA obtained X 100 / Maximum GPA obtainable.

    Such candidates are required to have a minimum of 65% marks or above.

Students who have not studied Biology at the Bachelor’s level must have studied and passed in Biology as a subject at 10+2 (12th class) level.


Format of the Entrance Test

The Entrance Test will be of 3 hours duration and the question paper will have multiple-choice questions in two parts. Each question will carry one mark. Simple calculators may be used.

Part A: will consist of 30 questions carrying one mark each and will have 10+2 level questions from Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics. Candidates will be expected to attempt all questions from Part A.

Part B: will consist of a total of 120 questions out of which the candidates will have to answer any 70 questions. The paper will have undergraduate level questions as follows: 60 from Biology (including Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Immunology, Plant and Animal Sciences, Genetics and Microbiology), 30 from Chemistry, 15 from Physics and Biophysics and 15 from Mathematics and Biostatistics.


Negative Marks for Wrong Answers

If the answer given to any of the Multiple Choice Questions is wrong, ¼ of the marks assigned to that question will be deducted.

See M Sc Biotechnology Entrance Test paper of the year 2015.


^ Back to Top