Department of Computer Science
Department of Computer Science

The Department


The Department of Computer Science, established by the University in 2010, is one of the most vibrant departments of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science. The department initiated its teaching activities through a post-graduate programme in Computer Science in 2010, and later it started PhD programme in Computer Science in 2013. For each programme, the department follows a unique up-to-date curriculum with the aim to equip the students with theoretical and analytical skills as well as thorough knowledge and expertise in the latest state-of-the art techniques in IT, so that they could work competently in diverse areas.


Keeping in mind that the university departments have their own responsibility to bring out skilled and competent professionals to face global challenges with the new insights of problem-solving abilities, the Department of Computer Science, admitting students from all SAARC nations, is rendering such an important responsibility by producing Computer Science professionals competent enough to fulfill the industrial and research needs of the SAARC nations. The mission of producing able and competent Computer Science professionals in the department is being achieved due to the involvement of highly dedicated and competent faculty members. We are continuously progressing year after year as we are sincerely committed towards the goal of promoting not only the department but also the institution as a whole. Our students have been able to make a mark for themselves by their services offered in different parts of the world on behalf of their nation.


To strengthen research activities of the university, the department has instituted Doctor of Philosophy programme with an early exit option with M.Phil. Degree. To create an appropriate experimental setup for the proposed doctoral research programme and the existing masters' students entering into their thesis component, the department has formulated a comprehensive laboratory plan with one general-purpose computing laboratory and seven specialized laboratories, including Hardware & Digital Systems Lab, Advanced Analytics & Cyber Security Lab, Real-Time Systems Lab, Machine Learning Lab, Wireless Networks & Mobile Computing Lab,Intelligent Systems & Text Analytics Lab, and Computational Intelligence Lab.

^ Back to Top